Town and Village Renewal Scheme

This Scheme aims to support the revitalisation of Towns and Villages across Ireland, in order to increase their attractiveness as places in which to live and work. A wide variety of projects, have been identified by Local Authorities in conjunction with local community groups and businesses, including improving playgrounds and footpaths, tourism amenities, public art pieces and a wide range of works to improve the streetscape and public realm of towns and villages nationwide, to help make them more attractive and more sustainable places in which to live and work.A pilot initiative will be launched in 2nd half of the year to examine ways in which to encourage increased residential occupancy in town and village centres.


All small towns and villages with populations of less than 10,000 qualify for funding. There are two categories of eligible Towns/Villages:

Category 1:  Towns/villages with a population <5,000.

Category 2:  Towns with a population of 5,000 – 10,000.

Funding is being allocated to Local Authorities to meet up to 85% of the total cost of each project.

Contact Details for Town and Village Renewal Scheme Enquiries

County Name E-Mail Address
Carlow County Council Bernie O’Brien
Carlow County Council Kieran Comerford
Cavan County Council Eoin Doyle
Clare County Council Leonard Cleary
Cork City Council Pat Ledwidge
Cork City Council Valerie O’Sullivan
Cork County Council Sharon Corcoran
Donegal County Council Paddy Doherty
Dublin City Council Brendan Kenny
Dún Laoghaire – Rathdown County Council Dearbhla Lawson
Fingal County Council Ann Marie Farrelly
Fingal County Council Ethna Felten
Galway City Council Eileen Ruane
Galway County Council
Kerry County Council Michael Scannell
Kildare County Council Peter Minnock
Kildare County Council Sonia Kavanagh
Kilkenny County Council Simon Walton
Kilkenny County Council Maria Melia
Kilkenny County Council Martin Prendiville
Laois County Council Kieran Kehoe
Laois County Council Michael Rainey
Laois County Council Ann Marie Kelly
Leitrim County Council Michelle Reynolds
Leitrim County Council Terence McGovern
Limerick City & County Council Pat Daly
Longford County Council Barbara Heslin
Longford County Council Lorraine O’Connor
Louth County Council Mary T Daly
Mayo County Council Joanne Grehan
Mayo County Council Peter Hynes
Meath County Council Barry Lynch
Monaghan County Council Paul Clifford
Offaly County Council Declan Kirrane
Roscommon County Council
Sligo County Council Dorothy Clarke
Sligo County Council Michael Carty
Sligo County Council Ray O’Grady
South Dublin County Council Billy Coman
South Dublin County Council Colm Ward
South Dublin County Council Frank Nevin
Tipperary County Council Sinead Carr
Tipperary County Council
Waterford City & County Council Joe Sullivan
Waterford City & County Council Lar Power
Waterford City & County Council Michael Quinn
Waterford City & County Council
Westmeath County Council Barry Kehoe
Wexford County Council Tony Larkin
Wicklow County Council Joe Lane
Wicklow County Council Lorraine Lynch


The CLÁR programme (Ceantair Laga Ard-Riachtanais) is a targeted investment programme which provides funding for small scale infrastructural projects in rural areas that have suffered the greatest levels of population decline. The aim of CLÁR is to support the sustainable development of identified CLÁR areas by attracting people to live and work there.  The funding works in conjunction with local funding and on the basis of locally identified priorities.

Parts of Counties which benefit  under the  CLÁR Programme  are: Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wicklow and all of County Leitrim. Three  counties Dublin, Kildare and Wexford do not have any CLÁR areas.

CLAR map of Ireland


CLÁR has funding of €5M available for 2017.